EAI banner

Workshop on Open Radio Platforms for 5G Research and Beyond


The digital transformation of our society won’t be possible without the support of an appropriate mobile network infrastructure. The evolution of this network infrastructure needs to meet the requirements of 5G (and beyond) poses challenging research problems: higher bandwidths and lower latencies are being demanded together with the ability to serve a multiplicity and heterogeneity of devices. On top of this, the network infrastructure evolution must take place in an energy-efficient and economically sustainable manner.

Within this context, the existence of platforms and testbeds that can speed up mobile networks innovation and enable the validation and optimization of new radio technologies already in an early phase of the development cycle is of paramount importance. Such platforms and testbeds are already playing a key role in testing and evaluating the performance achieved by new research ideas and developments. Moreover, these platforms are covering a broad set of research questions, some of them focusing on specific low-level aspects of wireless communications, and some others on the study of the entire end-to-end mobile network, including in some cases extensions tailored to the need of specific vertical industries (automotive, industry 4.0, eHealth, ect.). In addition, these platforms and testbeds have to be able to validate the most significant network KPIs under realistic conditions and in a controllable and reproducible manner.

The main focus of this workshop will be to present the latest developments on existing platforms for 5G research and beyond (in both hardware and software domains). A special focus will be put on open source developments, as they speed up innovation in the mobile networks ecosystem.

Program Committee

  • Bastian Bloessl (Chair, Trinity College Dublin)
  • Nikolaos Bartzoudis (CTTC)
  • Martin Braun (Ettus Research)
  • Maicon Kist (Trinity College Dublin)
  • Miriam Leeser (Northeastern University)
  • Wei Liu (Ghent University)
  • Andre Puschmann (Software Radio Systems)
  • Ivan Seskar (Rutgers University)
EAI Institutional Members